Julian & Jenée - First guests

March 10, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We had a wonderful stay, thank you so much.
Jenée and I just loved staying at your place. It was perfect for us and your hospitality really made our stay special. We will definitely be in touch the next time we are in Austin.

Carol E. - Austin vacation

April 22, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Porter and I had a delightful stay in Austin at Rice's place.  It as beautiful as the pictures, tastefully decorated and centrally located. Everything we needed was provided and Pam and Rice were perfect hosts and such nice folks. We would highly recommend this place and we will definitely stay there again.  Thanks Rice and Pam for your hospitality, Regards, Porter and Carol.

Mark S. - Austin

April 20, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Well this one won't be vacant often!
I travel weekly and stay at numerous high end hotel chains.
Having stayed in a hotel the night before I called Rice on Friday afternoon as most of the hotels were overbooked due to bike races and reggae festival; he was so accommodating and set me up for Friday and Saturday nights so I could spend "Dad's Weekend" with my daughter, a UT student. (Even though he had people arriving Sunday). The unit is immaculate, outfitted with the latest technology, extremely comfortable, has everything you need, quiet and centrally located, especially close to UT.  I even strolled through campus to downtown/sixth street in about 40 minutes.
I would stay again without hesitation.
Thanks Rice!

Joe B. - A really great space

April 13, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We stayed here for a three-day-weekend vacation in April and really couldn't have been more impressed. The rental was very clean and included everything we'd expect and then some. We both thought that it was really remarkable how comfortable they made the entire space feel.
We'd looked around at other hotels and rentals near downtown and this one stood out.  Having gone to UT and having a long-living fondness for the neighborhood, my only concern coming in was that it may be a little noisy.  But that couldn't have ended up being further from the truth.  Actually, being able to open the place up, plug in the iPod and relax reading turned out to be a highlight of our time in town.
Would we recommend staying here? Without a doubt. We're already looking forward to doing it again.

Sara P. - Great stay In Austin, Texas

May 10, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My son and I were looking for an apartment to stay in while we were visiting family and friends in Austin, Texas. We found the 35th Street apartment and were impressed by the pictures and dealing with the owners prior to arriving.  Once in Austin, our expectations were blown out of the water. It was cute, clean, airy, aesthetically pleasing and has wonderful owners. I also LOVED the location. We were close to the campus, downtown, NW Austin and still able to jump on MoPac to go down south. If you are looking for some place to stay, look no further. Affordable and awesome... what more can I say?

Jessica C. - This is an amazing rental

May 24, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Brand new, well-appointed, comfortable and spacious apartment.  The location was very convenient. The property exceeded all expectations. Thank you!

Matt C. - Believe the positive reviews

May 30, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Immaculate apartment that is exactly as depicted in the photos with wonderful wood floors and a cool little balcony for sipping your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. Arrival was easy and friendly with a quick tour of the property provided by the owner, Rice.  The apartment was gorgeous to look at and had every convenience we could ask for. The location is perfect - easy access to UT and the Drag (Guadalupe) and downtown, 6th Street, Warehouse District, SoCo are all within a very short drive south.  If you lived in Austin, this area would be one of the top choices, so why not stay there when visiting? We will definitely be returning for weekend trips in the near future.

Mike - Immaculate place

July 27, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our daughter is a student at UT. We recently purchased a condo in the same neighborhood and needed a place to stay for a few days while last minute renovations were being completed. I really picked this place just because it was close to the condo and available. Boy, was that a stroke of luck! This place is great! We have been using HomeAway and VRBO for years and have stayed in lots of different places. Rarely, if ever, have we gotten this kind of quality for this price. The place is new and extremely well done. The attention to detail in both construction and furnishing could not be better. Even with 100º+ weather everyday, the place was perfectly comfortable and a joy to come home to. The owners, Rice and Pam, are members of a close knit neighborhood who always know everything of interest that's going on, and were more than helpful giving us any info we needed. Even the dogs Lola (Border Collie) and Tyler (Dalmatian) who live in the fenced yard next door are friendly and fun. This is a true Austin experience and I highly recommend both the place and the people.

Susan P. - Great place - Close to UT!

September 7, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We stayed here for a UT football weekend. The location was within a 15 minute walk to the campus. The neighborhood was very nice, and enjoyable for runners or walkers. The property was immaculate and very well designed. The kitchen had everything that you would need to cook, but why bother with so many great restaurants in the area. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They filled the property with interesting books, magazines and art, which made it feel like a true getaway! We will stay here again!

Teresa B. - Gallery House in Austin

September 17, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It was random that I ended up finding this vacation rental, and I am so pleased I did. House was perfect! Relaxing! Pleasant! and all around a perfect experience with renting. The owners were so welcoming with plenty of information about how to get around, where to eat & what to see.  Great tips! I have plans to return next year at the same time!

Next time I'm expecting to see displays of professional photographic works from the owners. This house was recently built with environmental considerations. That too, was why it was so comfortable, and clean. Loved the attention to details! Thanks for the pleasant stay in Austin. I look forward to returning.

Sadie S. - Fun weekend

October 5, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing property!
Described exactly as on the website. Everything you need for a fun and comfy weekend. VERY clean, close to UT and we utilized the many food suggestions. Would HIGHLY recommend to all friends and family. Can't wait to stay here again ;)

Lara G. - Austin touring

October 11, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our stay in Austin was one of the best whilst traveling across the USA. The apartment was immaculate, everything you see in the photos is exactly how it is. The Murphy bed (original from New York) was great to sleep on, what we needed after some long drives and big days at Austin City Limits. Pam and Rice were amazing hostes and on our next visit to Austin, we'll make sure we drop by and say hi!

Maryann R. - Outstanding Austin apartment

October 26, 2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

What a find. Not only is this studio apartment new and immaculate, it is an environmentally friendly architectural dream. The owners Rice and Pam could not have been more gracious and helpful. Their attention to detail is apparent throughout the apartment. Wonderful neighborhood within walking distance to the UT campus. Covered parking. The listing description and photos were spot on. Only wish we'd had more time to relax at the apartment and enjoy it. We will definitely be back - assuming there's a vacancy!

Zach T. - Clean and comfortable in a great location

January 8, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The apartment is comfortable and very clean with a well-stocked kitchen and bathroom. The bed is firm for anyone who is used to a soft mattress. The location is ideal - never more than fifteen minutes driving from anything we wanted to do or see in Austin. We would return to this property.

NOTE by Rice on this comment:  We added a 1.5" memory foam top to the mattress after Zach's stay.  Everyone loves it.

Pete R. - Surprisingly beautiful, well appointed and wonderfully functional studio

January 22, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The property is a new, well thought out structure with high end appointments. It is located in a quiet neighborhood and close to town and several fun coffee and food spots (long walks though- having a car is convenient and easy with this unit). The owners live on site and are very helpful in all regards. I especially looked forward to a morning coffee or evening cocktail on the south facing balcony while my wife enjoyed her morning jogs in the neighborhood with students starting their treks to campus.

ft25 - Very nice

January 31, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The studio is recently constructed.  Very comfortable, quiet and cozy and the owners were very helpful and flexible. Great location close to bus and university.

Daron H. - Awesomeness

May 10, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My wife and I stayed here with our seven year old son for a long weekend. And it was pure awesomeness. There was nothing that Pam and Rice overlooked. From wine glasses to linens to advice, everything we needed was provided without having to ask. This is a place I will stay again and again. I can't speak highly enough of it. Stay here and be happy with your choice of accommodations.

Matt C. - Another GREAT stay!

May 16, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My wife and I love this very cool little studio apartment near the UT campus. The location is great, the apartment is very comfortable and feels like you're in a beautiful, light and airy treehouse. The owners are very easy to work with. The photos are very accurate. There's nothing more you could ask from a short term rental. Stay here!

Jeffrey G. - Loved it! Already booked it for my next visit.

May 31, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is a wonderful modern studio apartment in a great location! The studio is brand new, thoughtfully designed, wonderfully maintained and well stocked! The central location is great too - close to the UT campus and lots of restaurants, music and shopping. And the owners are accommodating and unobtrusive in a separate building on the property. I had a great stay here. I highly recommend.

Sue D. - Modern Space, Thoughtful Owners

July 31, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Immaculate apartment was just what we expected and the owners were available to answer questions and provide assistance as needed.  Location was quiet, but near enough to bus routes & Car2Go that we didn't even need to rent a car. They also provided me a snack due to my *very* late arrival time. I would definitely recommend this rental - and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Bajoris J. - Gallery House

October 11, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Everything was great. Brand new and spotless. The owners were very nice and everything was terrific.

Judith A. - Austin Studio

November 6, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was a lovely large studio, well equipped, very comfortable. I would highly recommend it. The owner was extremely helpful, pleasant but not obtrusive. We will most likely use it again when we return to Austin to visit family.

Shelly R. - A very pleasant abode

November 14, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is second time that we stayed at this property and have already reserved it for next year. The owners were so helpful and welcoming. This included complimentary fresh fruit and wine upon our arrival. Friendly and helpful advice regarding area restaurants and activities was included in a well prepared manual in addition to the owners direct personal suggestions. The place was exactly what we expected and the pictures were perfect. The apartment was spotless and every amenity that we needed was readily available. We would absolutely recommend staying at this property when you're in the Austin area.

Laura - Great cottage and wonderful stay

November 28, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I stayed at the Gallery House over Thanksgiving and it was just perfect. The owners of this property have thought of everything. It is bright, comfortable and very attractive. I am booking it again for January and March. Rice and Pam are the perfect hosts.

Anna K. - Very neat, all amenities, close to UT

December 7, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I love the Gallery House! It's small but fits an amazing amount of comfort and convenience. The layout is very smart and well planned, the Murphy bed and pillows are comfortable, and the decor is all nice, new and cute. I was very comfortable there and I was able to walk to the north side of the UT campus. Close by were two grocery stores and lots of restaurants.

Marko M. - Excellent location, great hospitality

February 3, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The place is brand new, very well located near campus and in one of the best neighborhoods in Austin. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and they are among the nicest people I have met recently! Very satisfied with the experience.

Judith & Jack - Staying here is like a "home"...

February 19, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Staying here is like a "home" in Austin away from our "home" with our kids and grandkids. We we need some space from the colds etc. Thanks for thinking of everything to make us comfortable and for being there when we called last minute!

Matthew W. - Excellent property and location

February 27, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great property in a great location; located within easy distance of UT and downtown. The owners are fantastic, being more than helpful when I arrived and throughout my stay. The studio is laid out perfectly and can more than accommodate 1-2 people. Very satisfied with my stay and would recommend to anyone visiting Austin.

DS - 3-Month Stay

March 28, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I stayed at Gallery House for three months and enjoyed every moment of my time there.  Most importantly, the owners, Rice and Pam, are the most gracious of hosts. They took the time to point out local hot spots, and the apartment has a great information book about what to do close-by. The apartment has so many great amenities such as wooden floors, very comfortable bed, Air Play speakers that tune in to your iPhone, Netflix, great lighting, comfortable balcony for relaxing, etc. It was a vacation every day of my 3-month stay. And the location is all you could want... walking distance to great restaurants and no more than a bike ride to the downtown live music scene. The campus is withing walking distance, so if you're into UT sports, this apartment is perfect for accommodating your time in town. If you're wanting the downtown/UT campus fee, this is your place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Marta D. - Nice Gallery House

June 20, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My experience with Rice and Pam was VERY pleasant: they are always there to make my stay easy and comfortable. This house has gallery walls with photographs familiar yet unknown set me to wondering many times about the place and the motives Rice had to capture them. The apartment is immaculate and full of light, and the location very centric. I would definitely count on Gallery House in the future!

Jay J. - Modern Oasis

June 28, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The other five-star reviews do not lie. This was everything advertised and more.  I wanted a small, quiet, centrally location getaway in Austin, and Gallery House provided it in spades. Despite 90º+ temp in town at the time, the beautifully decorated studio stayed very comfortable, and I spent hours there, reading with my feet up. A bonus was the covered parking that kept my car cool for when I did decide to go out, and there are plenty of great restaurants a short trip (or even a walk) away (Vino Vino, Uchiko, Foreign & Domestic). Campus is easily walkable, and I ran on the Shoal Creek Trail nearby. Rice has thought of everything and responded instantly when contacted. I would happily stay here again.

Jane and Jim - Sweet Retreat

July 5, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our first stay at the Gallery House was all that we hoped it would be and more. The beautiful cathedral ceiling, reclaimed wooden floors, sleek modern furniture, and balcony porch make it a lovely living space and a perfect retreat at the end of a busy day. Rice and Pam are warm, hospitable, and generous hosts, from sharing restaurant recommendations and their morning newspapers, to bringing us freshly picked peaches from a trip to the Texas Hill Country. As new grandparents, our main activity was helping our Austin son and daughter-in-law with the new baby, but we also enjoyed walks through the Gallery House neighborhood and trips to the LBJ Presidential Library, to the great independent bookstore, BookPeople, and to several nearby restaurants. We're looking forward to our next visit to our Austin family and to the Gallery House and its gracious owners!

Extensive Traveler - Perfect place for a weekend getaway

October 10, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My fiancé and I stayed in this great studio apartment for ACL weekend and absolutely loved it. Not only was it centrally location, it was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Rice, the owner, was more than helpful during the booking process and followed up several times before our stay to ensure everything was going as planned. There are several breakfast and dinner places within walking distance (about or less than a mile) and we always felt completely safe. We travel quite a bit and love eclectic neighborhood that are a true representation of the area. Will definitely check this place out the next time we visit Austin!

Shelly & Stephen - Third year coming...

November 3, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is our 3rd year coming to Austin & each year you seem to make it better & better. Your attention to detail is wonderful we never seem to want for anything. While we are here - it is truly a home away from home. Warm wishes for the coming year & looking forward to the F1 Grand Prix next year.

Janet O. - Sanity for Rent

November 26, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

if you need to gather yourself away from chaos, here's the ideal destination. Prep the coffee-pot before you hit the hay in the oh-so-comfortable Murphy bed (the owners have pre-ground coffee for you), take a walk or run around the old Austin neighborhood or through UT, come on 'home' to Gallery House and shower up with hot water that never runs out. Everything you need at your fingertips, including reading material.

Di - Lovely modern studio stay

December 14, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My husband and I stayed in this modern, cozy studio for 6 days of vacation in December. The accommodations and Rice's hospitality definitely provided for a wonderful first visit to Austin! We've used VRBO on several occasions in the past, but Rice's communication skills, sincere excitement for Austin, and incredibly thoughtful set-up out-shined our past experiences. The studio itself had excellent amenities such as a comfortable Murphy bed, heated bathroom, covered parking, wifi, and Netflix just to name a few. Rice also has TWO binders full of places to visit while in Austin, not to mention great suggestions for restaurants if you ask. We took his advice and walked to a nearby Tex-Mex restaurant, Trudy's, and enjoyed some delicious fajitas and margaritas. The central location of the studio facilitates walking/biking/driving to most any Austin activities we had planned. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone thinking about visiting Austin. I know we'll be staying there the next time we return.

Jim & Jane - Our thanks

December 24, 2014

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our thanks to Rice & Pam for being such warm and thoughtful hosts & for making our second Gallery House visit and first Christmas in Austin feel so home-like with festive decorations & special holiday treats. We came to Austin to spend Christmas with our son, daughter-in-law & their darling 8 month old daughter, our first grandchild. During this and previous visits to Austin we have enjoyed the Texas State History Museum, The LBJ Library, the LBJ Ranch, Fredericksburg and a UT basketball game. We also had a great weekend in San Antonio and the Hill Country, especially a nostaglic visit to the Dixie Dude Ranch in Bandera where Jane spent many childhood vacations and where her parents lived for three months during WWII when her dad was working at the air base.

Bill K. - Fantastic vacation rental in central Austin

February 12, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rice and Pam are incredibly hospitable, and their Gallery House has all the amenities for a long weekend in Austin. 5/5, will visit again.

South Carolina Traveler - Gallery House

February 27, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I had an excellent stay at the Gallery House. This is an extremely clean guest house. There is nothing you would need that is not in the property. However, if you find something you need, Rice and Pam will deliver it to you. The property is, private, clean, safe, and comfortable. The Murphy bed is incredible as well. Perfect for a family of three. Please, if you are planning on staying here treat this property as your own, keep it as nice as it is!

Chip & Laura H. - I can't say enough about this darling rental!

March 25, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The owners, Rice and Pam, have done a great job on this rental! They have thought of everything a traveler might need and more. It was my husband and I and we had plenty of space. Having a bathroom sink outside of the shower/toilet area was so convenient. The bed was great and such a cool idea of being able to be tucked away during the day, yet the curtain provided privacy from the rest of the apartment if you needed it to. For a small space, we never stumbled over each other, even when there were four of us there. We enjoyed the balcony during the day as well as in the evening. The location was very convenient for us as it was close to where our son lives. We are eager to stay again on our return trip next March! Thanks again

Allie & Jake - Thank you for everything

April 5, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We stayed here while in Austin and it was absolutely wonderful - we will absolutely be back soon! Everyone took great care of us while we were here and it could have have been a better place to stay with such thoughtful hosts.

Anna & Mary - Thanks so much to your both!

April 27, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We had a great time in Austin and hanging out in this wonder place. You've thought of everything to make our stay comfortable! Found some great restaurants, including Mandola's Italian, Rudy's, The Oasis at Lake Travis, Iron Cactus - fabulous peach-mango margarita! Would love to come back!

AnnMarie L. - Home away from home

April 29, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rice and Pam have created a modern, efficient, green, and fully stocked living space just minutes from downtown Austin, Rainey Street, UT, etc. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks guys!

Lee & Shelly - A quick getaway

May 15, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My husband and I just wanted a quick getaway and I'm so glad we found your place. Such a comfortable and cool place! If we ever get to come back, I'd love to stay here. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

Javier - Loft

May 18, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great place, enjoyed the upgrades and attention to details. Relaxed.

Mkaylei - Great apartment!

July 3, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The apartment was really comfortable. Had everything you need in a small space. Great shower and loved sitting on the balcony at night. Rice was there to greet us, very friendly and more than willing to answer any questions about the area and anything else we asked about. Would definitely recommend!

Sue D. - Excellent hosts, location, and property

July 28, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rice & Pam have the perfect place to get away in Austin. We've stayed twice now, both times in August, and the apartment stayed comfortable and was just what we needed for our home base. Everything that you could want or need to eat in, and great ideas for eating out. We kayaked at Spring Lake, shopped San Marcos outlets, visited with family at the Hyde Park Bar & Grill, and watched dancers at Ballet Austin. A great trip once again. Thank you!

Tx Traveler - Great place to stay!

September 5, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very nice apartment with great hosts who were gracious (but not intrusive) and even shared their brownies with us. The apartment is convenient to the UT area. It is an efficiency apartment, but open and light with nice décor. Loved Rice's photos. The murphy bed is quite comfortable. We definitely would stay here again.

Carmen & Rick - Gallery House has surpassed them all

November 8, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rick and I have experienced staying in other guest houses in Austin and other cities, and your Gallery House as surpassed them all. You have a special attention to detail wrapped into this unique space. Lovely neighborhood and so convenient to town and UT. Thank you for driving Rick to our daughter's UT event - he had travelled all day from Los Angeles (cancelled flights, delays) and was frantic to see us.  Hope to be able to stay again.

Paula P. - Perfect as a ship's cabin!

November 15, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I stayed in Rice and Pam's perfect place for two months between November 15, 2015 and January 15, 2016. It was the best spot I could have chosen. The attention to detail that Rice and Pam lavish on their small apartment is unbelieveable. I was so lucky - the location is perfect. But I was beyond all reason lucky to have met these lovely people. They were without fail helpful in so many ways, suggesting gardens and museums to visit, and even guiding me in my forays away from Austin - I drove to Marfa for a couple of nights. They are interesting and interested people you will profit from their acquaintance. The apartment is well-appointed and organized as a ship's cabin. You will have everything you need - everything! I love the sleek modern design. Don't miss the opportunity to stay with these thoughtful, generous, and smart Texans.

Nancy & Mark - We set out to escape freezing weather

January 18, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

When we set out to escape freezing weather we found greater warmth in Gallery House than we could have hoped for in Austin! Thanks for helping with our spur of the moment, fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants trip by booking at the last minute! This has been a perfectly appointed space, so cozy and artistic for an introductory visit to Austin by my boyfriend. We shall return again when the winter weather isn't our motivation!

Jeanne & Gary - Lovely and beautiful

January 24, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Thank you sooo very much for making our stay so very comfortable! Your place is lovely and beautiful - all the details add to making us especially comfortable. It was a disappointment to be ill the entire time, but in a comfortable place away from home to let one's body heal. You are gracious and accommodating hosts. We appreciate your care and helpfulness.  Many thanks again.

Judith & Jack - Happy Valentines Day!

February 14, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Always a clean, peaceful, quiet retreat. Thank you for your many kindnesses.

Margaret L. - Ideal accommodation, ideal location

February 17, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I could repeat everything that's already been said, but instead will just say this: it's all true! If you are not sure whether to make a reservation, do not hesitate. You will have no regrets!
(see guest book in the apartment for their many restaurant recommendations!)

Tom & Cindy - Outstanding accommodations!

March 31, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Rice and Pam's apartment as a short vacation in advance of a conference my wife was attending at the University of Texas. The attention to detail throughout the apartment in design, amenities and cleanliness was excellent. It was a great place to relax and recharge after activities around the university campus and city of Austin. We made very few plans in advance of our trip and found the 3-inch, 3-ring binder full of maps, transit information, restaurant reviews and local activities to be well organized, current and extremely helpful. The local newspaper that arrived at our door each morning was also a nice touch. We have stayed in a number of HomeAway/VRBO rentals in a variety of locations over the years and this was by far the best. If I could have changed only one thing, I would have made our stay a little longer!!

Debbie & Gail - We enjoyed the amenities

April 7, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We enjoyed the amenities and careful planning that made the Gallery House so comfortable during our stay in Austin. Comfortable and luxurious.  The BBQ, Tex-Mex, museums, history and music were all terrific - my first trip to Texas!  Thanks for providing our retreat!

Daris & Erika - What a wonderful place!

April 10, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We came for Moto GP and after spending all day at the track it felt good to come "home" to a place that felt like home.  This is the cutest little house.  It was comfortable and clean. The owners are super sweet. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable & memorable.

Gordon & Deborah - Over the Top Review - A Six Star Review

April 23, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★★

This VRBO lacked for nothing right down to the tiniest detail!! Some of the outstanding features were the Murphy bed, the bathroom shower, the kitchen appliances, and the overall cleanliness. We appreciated the off street parking. The university, shopping and restaurants were all within walking distance. Our hosts were welcoming, generous and helpful. We loved the books. We would highly recommend this property to our friends. If available, we intend to stay here during all our future visits to Austin.

Kenley - Excellent

July 14, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was a surprise. A very nice space with an air conditioner, kitchen area, a flat screen tv and a nice sofa. Includes a library of popular fiction, southwestern history, and books of art and photography. The walls are adorned with really nice photographic art that was made by Rice, which is for sale. It must have been laid-out by an interior designer because I experienced it as being divided into thirds. Two people could easily live in the place and each would feel as if he has enough personal space. So, as a temporary living space, it's perfect. If you dislike hotels no matter how luxurious, this is the place to stay when in Austin

Sharon & Dave - A beautiful retreat

August 18, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A beautiful retreat in the Hyde Park area of Austin that was perfect for our stay. Rice and Pam were gracious hosts, giving advice and asking if we needed anything. We loved the detail in the studio apartment and Rice's photography. We spent a lot of time on the porch, reading, drinking our morning coffee. The Murphy bed was very comfortable - it's a real bed. Even though our first day in Austin hit 105 degrees, the studio stayed cool. When we go back to Austin, the Gallery House will be our first choice.

Robin & Jake - Home Away From Home

September 25, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Loved, loved, loved your sweet "home away from home"!! So comfy & cute! We hope we can call this our "Austin home" for the next four years while our son is at UT.  If it's not always booked! :-)

Monika - I loved my stay

October 20, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I loved my stay, what a beautiful "little house" you have created for us. So clean and thoughtful. Thank you for having me.

Stan & Sally - I loved our stay here

November 6, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Stan & I loved our stay here.  You were both so hospitable and the place is wonderful. Every detail is well designed. Alexa is amazing!  We hope to come back next year for the Texas Book Festival. Thank you for all your kindnesses.

Ellie & John - Perfect Little House

November 11, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This place really raised the standards for what accommodations! The place goes beyond the normal expectations of being clean, having a comfortable bed, and a good location. They also provide small conveniences that go very far: like butter & jam, salt & pepper, Netflix & HBOnow! Highly recommended!

Judy - The Devil is in the details

November 17, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

They say the Devil is in the details - I agree - and staying at the Gallery House - top floor of the garage - is close to Heaven when it comes to a place to stay in Austin.  What a find! Thoroughly enjoyable, comfortable, efficient use of space, quiet and a multitude of options, within and in the neighborhood. Such a pleasant experience to share with family and friends; and it is a model to incorporate into housing development. 

Gena - Comfortable and beautiful

March 14, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rice and Pam couldn't have been any nicer. They left snacks and offered a ride during rain. On top of that their place is comfortable and beautiful!

Craig & Amy - What a sweet place to stay

March 25, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

What a sweet place to stay! We enjoyed the comfort & hospitality of the Gallery House. The neighborhood is the perfect spot to enjoy Austin from. We loved breakfast at Snooze & walking to Hopfields for dinner & drinks. Thanks for creating such a beautiful, relaxing space & sharing it with us.

Karin & David - So much in such a little space!

May 1, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I stayed here for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. Rice has thought of everything, and utilized the small space very well. The bed is extremely comfortable, the shower has great water pressure and the kitchen has anything you could need. The porch is perfect for a morning cup of coffee. Rice is extremely attentive- if you have any questions about where to eat or what to do, he can tell you or you can read all about it in a binder he has collated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Carol - Perfect Quiet Space

May 8, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Stayed here while visiting my daughter this past weekend. It was just what I wanted for a stay on my own. I felt perfectly safe and relaxed. Quiet street within walking distance of a park and some restaurants. Apt is as stated. I especially appreciated a couple of small items; a magnifying mirror and make-up remover wipes (which I forgot). I imagine that thanks goes to Pam. I appreciated the quiet and restful time I spent reading or sitting on that balcony. I even learned to appreciate Alexa. Lots of windows, books and art to enjoy. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Marcy & Bobby - A wonderful stay in your home

May 20, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Thank you Rice & Pam for such a wonderful stay in your home! You provided so many amenities and we truly felt like we were at home! We enjoyed a fun filled weekend celebrating my sister's graduation. We loved the Gallery House and all the photographs. Can't wait to come back and visit.

Deborah - A perfect place for my mini-sabbatical

June 2, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Kudos to you and Pam for creating this very special complete space, private, inventive, sleek, comfortable. A perfect place for my mini-sabbatical. I appreciate every single effort you've made to welcome me

Michael - Stay green in Austin

June 12, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very helping/friendly owners. Everything was well organized (sms before arriving) - we have been very welcomed. Many tips were given to us (and also a lot of brochures) to enjoy the area and even farther away. The place was nice and very clean. Nice terrace. Area is green and easy access by car to downtown and highway. Austin is also a fantastic city.

Craig - Great place to stay while working

June 16, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great place to stay while working during the week in Austin. Love looking at the art after a long day. Can't wait to move to Austin and send my guests to stay here!

Daron - A Guesthouse Most Spectacular

August 3, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was our second time to stay at the Gallery House, and it was every bit as good as the first, and then some. So long as the gods continue to smile upon us, this is the only place we will stay when traveling to Austin. Rice is everything we look for in a host. Accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable, yet not overbearing or intruding. The location is solid and safe. If the traveler be Goldilocks, Rice and his Gallery House are the perfect bowl of porridge, the perfect sized bed, the perfectly comfortable bear house. What I'm getting at is that everything about our stay was perfect. Stay at the Gallery House. You'll be glad you did.

Matt K. - Amazing!

October 3, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The place is awesome and worked out perfect

Sheila B. - They Thought of Everything!

October 18, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My daughter and I needed a place to stay during the 2nd weekend of Austin City Limits music festival, and were lucky enough to come across this gem of a home. The owners, Rice and Pam, are extremely nice people--accommodating, communicative, and welcoming. They provided every comfort of home plus more. On Sunday it was forecasted to rain, so Pam brought over ponchos for my daughter and I to take along, they provided mats to take with us for sitting, umbrellas, etc. This is the most well-appointed HomeAway rental we've ever had the opportunity to stay in. We will be back!

Nathalie & Jean Pascal - Enjoyed our time

November 5, 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very much enjoyed our time in this pretty house. Thanks so much. Merci beaucoup!